Ivashkevich YV, Kazacheuskaya L, Petyaeva AV, Churilov LP Adjuvant and other effects of BCG vaccine and its influence on the epidemiology of new coronavirus disease COVID-19. Juvenis scientia. 2020;6(4):5-29.

ADJUVANT AND OTHER EFFECTS OF BCG VACCINE AND ITS INFLUENCE ON THE EPIDEMIOLOGY OF NEW CORONAVIRUS DISEASE COVID-19

 

Ya. V. Ivashkevich 1, L. Kazacheuskaya 1, A. V. Petyaeva 1, L. P. Churilov 1,2

 

1 Saint Petersburg State University
7-9 Universitetskaya Emb., 199034 Saint Petersburg, Russia

 

2 St. Petersburg Research Institute of Phthisiopulmonology, Health Ministry of Russia,
2-4, Ligovskiy Ave., 191036 Saint Petersburg, Russia

The live BCG vaccine, causing a complex response of both innate and cellular as well as humoral adaptive immunity, is a biological adjuvant. It serves as a trigger for a "trained" immune system response, characterized by the activation of monocytes, macrophages, natural killer cells, and lymphoid elements of inborn populations, all contribute to the early activation of non-antigen-specific protective programmes of the body fight against a number of viral, fungal, protozoan infections and neoplastic clones. One of the infections, altered by BCG vaccination, may be COVID-19. The pathogenesis of the development of acute interstitial pneumonia/respiratory distress syndrome caused by COVID-19 is characterized by the triggering of excessive systemic action of inflammatory mediators, in particular, cytokines, due to violation of the focal inflammatory barriers. Gamma-interferon, produced by lymphocytes after BCG vaccination, modulates the activity of a number of interleukins, which in turn may attenuate course of COVID-19 by reducing the activity of IL-12 and IL-18 -dependent reactions. There is an antigenic cross-reaction between the peptides from causative agents of mycobacterioses and SARS-CoV2 because of their proteins’ homology. Unlike many adjuvants, BCG decreases the incidence of lymphoid malignancies and its effect on various autoimmunopathies is different, not necessarily harmful. The peculiar character of BCG vaccination effect may be related to its very early impact on immature immune system and symbiotic character of host-BCG interactions. Geo-epidemiological data on the relationship between the historical practice of using BCG vaccination in different countries and the current incidence of new coronavirus infection and mortality from it are presented. Historically, the medical and social reasons for the different national policies of health authorities regarding the use of the BCG vaccine are considered.

 

Keywords: adjuvant, autoimmunity, BCG vaccination, acute respiratory distress syndrome, antigen cross-specificity, trained immunity, coronavirus, SARS-CoV-2, coronavirus disease, COVID-19, cytokines.

 

Funding: The work was carried out within the framework of the implementation of Decree of the Government of the Russian Federation 220 and supported by the grant from the Government of the Russian Federation for state support of scientific research conducted under the guidance of leading scientists, contract 14.W03.31.0009.

  • Facebook Социальной Иконка
  • Vkontakte Social Иконка
  • Instagram

2015-2020 © Scientia Publiching House.
Juvenis scientia. ISSN 2414-3782

Ивашкевич Я.В., Козачевская Л.Ю, Петяева А.В., Чурилов Л.П. Адъювантный и другие эффекты вакцины БЦЖ и ее влияние на эпидемиологию новой коронавирусной болезни COVID-19 // Juvenis scientia. 2020. Т. 6. № 1. С. 5-29.

АДЪЮВАНТНЫЙ И ДРУГИЕ ЭФФЕКТЫ ВАКЦИНЫ БЦЖ И ЕЕ ВЛИЯНИЕ НА ЭПИДЕМИОЛОГИЮ НОВОЙ КОРОНАВИРУСНОЙ БОЛЕЗНИ COVID-19

 

Я. В. Ивашкевич 1, Л. Ю. Козачевская 1, А. В. Петяева 1, Л. П. Чурилов 1,2

 

1 Санкт-Петербургский государственный университет 
Россия, 199034 г. Санкт-Петербург, Университетская наб., 7-9

 

2 Научно-исследовательский институт фтизиопульмонологии МЗ РФ, 
Россия, 191036 г. Санкт-Петербург, Лиговский просп., 2-4

Живая вакцина БЦЖ, вызывая комплексный ответ как врожденного, так и клеточного/гуморального адаптивного иммунитета, служит биологическим адъювантом. Она выступает триггером «тренированной» реакции иммунной системы, характеризующейся активацией моноцитов, макрофагов, естественных киллеров, а также лимфоидных клеток врожденных популяций. Это способствует скорейшей активации неантигенспецифических защитных программ организма в борьбе с рядом вирусных, грибковых, протозойных инфекций и неоплазией. Одной из таких инфекций может быть COVID-19. Патогенез развития острой интерстициальной пневмонии/респираторного дистресс-синдрома, вызванных COVID-19, характеризуется запуском избыточного системного действия медиаторов воспаления, в частности – цитокинов, при нарушении его фокальных барьеров. Гамма-интерферон, вырабатываемый лимфоцитами после вакцинации БЦЖ, модулирует активность ряда интерлейкинов, что, в свою очередь, может способствовать менее тяжелому течению COVID-19 за счет снижения активности ИЛ-12 и ИЛ-18-зависимых реакций. Между возбудителями микобактериозов и COVID-19 существует антигенный перекрест из-за гомологии белков. В отличие от многих адъювантов, неоднозначно влияние БЦЖ на разные аутоиммунные заболевания (провокация одних и протективное действие при других), как и на риск возникновения лимфом (БЦЖ его снижает, тогда как многие адъюванты повышают). Это, видимо, связано с назначением БЦЖ в очень ранний период, при незрелой иммунной системе и отражает симбионтный характер взаимодействия штамма БЦЖ и организма хозяина. Приведены по странам данные о связи исторической практики применения вакцинации БЦЖ и текущей заболеваемости новой коронавирусной инфекцией и смертности от нее. Рассмотрены в историческом ключе медико-социальные причины разной национальной политики органов здравоохранения в отношении применения вакцины БЦЖ.

 

Ключевые слова: адъювант, аутоиммунитет, вакцинация БЦЖ, острый респираторный дистресс-синдром, перекрестная антигенная специфичность, тренированный иммунитет, коронавирус, SARS-CoV-2, коронавирусная болезнь, COVID-19, цитокины.

 

Финансирование: Работа выполнена в рамках реализации постановления Правительства Российской Федерации 220 и поддержана грантом Правительства РФ для государственной поддержки научных исследований, проводимых под руководством ведущих ученых, договор 14.W03.31.0009.

  • Facebook Социальной Иконка
  • Vkontakte Social Иконка
  • Instagram

2015-2020 © Издательский дом "Сциентиа".
Международный научный журнал "Juvenis scientia". ISSN 2414-3782.
Свидетельство о регистрации СМИ: ПИ № ФС 77-70584